A weekend away

I spent this weekend in the city of Vlore visiting a current Peace Corps volunteer who is working at the regional Ministry of Education and doing teacher trainings all over the place. The volunteer I stayed with speaks Albanian beautifully and gives me hope that someday (probably right before I’m ready to leave of course) I will be speaking just as well. In a city of more than 200,000 people she stopped and had a conversation with someone she knew everywhere we went. I could go on, but let’s just say her experience in Vlore is so so so inspirational and leave it at that.

Each of the 44 volunteers in our group went to a different city this weekend to see what life is reeeaaally like as a volunteer and to get out of our little training bubble. For me, the weekend was more like the greatest vacation I could have asked for. Vlore is the second largest beach town in Albania, so it’s huge and beautiful and right on the Mediterranean. The buildings literally go out onto the ocean and butt up to the sand. After feeling sequestered and cooped up in the tiny town of Bishqem, it was so refreshing to be in a big city surrounded by mountains on one side and the ocean and palm trees on the other.

I basically spent three days working out at her gym (with actual exercise equipment!), taking 30 minutes hot showers with serious water pressure, sitting at cafes on the waterfront, going to English bookstores, stuffing my face with seafood and vegetables, surfing the internet, and shopping…with tears of joy in my eyes. Don’t laugh, I think it actually made my month to have a few days of American-style living, honestly. For the first time in 3 weeks I felt like a real person again; it was beautiful. We even stayed out passed midnight (my first time being out past 6pm in Albania) bar hoping from karaoke bars to cocktail lounges. I probably looked like an idiot because I couldn’t wipe the huge smile off my face. It was like living a dream.

The funny thing is, that by the end of the third day, I was actually missing Bishqem. Never thought I’d say that! I was picturing myself living here for the next two years, trying to make an impact while teaching at a local high school and realized just how hard it would be to put my American self away and try to integrate into the community. Vlore is a stunningly beautiful city with all the amenities of everyday life in America and I will definitely definitely definitely be coming back for vacation asap, but there’s something to be said for the serene simplicity of village life in Bishqem. It makes it easier to accept that you’re far from home and part of a different culture. I actually found myself thinking how nice it is to remove yourself from the crowds, the dusty streets, and the high prices of city living for a little. I always thought I was a city girl at heart, and I think I still am somewhere deep down; but now I know that I want to spend my two years of service away from all the lights and chaos. Who would’ve thought. 

2 thoughts on “A weekend away

  1. Dan! I’m so glad you’re having a wonderful time and I’m in love with your blog. I miss you tons already, and I’ll be following the election closely and thinking of you haha ❤

  2. Pingback: Rimekembja » Vlorë, aksidentohen 10 maturantë

Leave a Reply

